Tedium and Trials – Swords and Serpents – Nintendo Entertainment System – 1990

swordsandserpents1

Swords and Serpents
Nintendo Entertainment System
Acclaim
1990
Genre: Dungeon Crawl RPG

Video games areĀ a lot like every other form of media. There are different tastes and a wide variety of games to sate those tastes. Not everyone is going to like the same thing, and when people expand outside of their usual fare, it can sometimes go sideways. Looking at Swords and Serpents, a game I used to have when I was younger, felt a lot like trying pistachio ice cream when I’ve been eating strawberry for a long time. In trying to look at it objectively, I can definitely pick out some good parts, but overall, I don’t think I see the game the same way fans of the genre do so it may be worthwhile to start with the disclaimer to take this review with a grain of salt.
Continue reading